News and notes: Fruitland High’s Martarano makes MaxPreps All-American Team

Joe Martarano, a 2013 Fruitland High graduate, was recently named to the MaxPreps 2013 Baseball Medium Schools All-American First Team as an infielder.

The 6-foot-3, 230-pounder finished his senior season batting .493 with 45 RBIs, 10 doubles, nine home runs and five triples.

Martarano, who played shortstop and pitched for the Grizzlies but was projected to play third base at the pro level, was selected with the 391st overall pick in this year’s MLB Draft by the Philadelphia Phillies.

Because Martarano signed to play football for Boise State this fall, he did not get drafted as high as originally projected.

NHSCA Academic All-American wrestlers

Six Idaho wrestlers were named to the National High School Coaches Association’s Academic All-American Team for the 2012-13 school year.

Columbia High wrestlers Tanner Beck, Kameron Reddish, Kaleb Tackett and Tim Wofford were selected, along with Lewiston High’s Drew Randall and John Kenyon.

Rocky Mountain swimmer makes scholastic team

Alex Trompke, who will be a senior at Rocky Mountain High this fall, was recently recognized as an Interscholastic Swimming All American and a USA Swimming Scholastic All American for the 2012-13 school year.

Trompke was the only swimmer in Idaho to receive the Interscholastic Swimming Award in both the 100 backstroke and 100 butterfly. He also is a swimmer on the Boise YMCA National Swimming Team and was recognized as a YMCA Swimming All American for the 100 backstroke in the spring of 2013.

IHSAA announces “Schools of Excellence” awards

The Idaho High School Activities Association’s year-long, voluntary program in which schools earn points based on their student-athletes’ performance in the classroom, at the athletic venue, in activities’ competitions and in the area of citizenship and sportsmanship will be awarded at the IHSAA’s annual meeting on July 31.

Winners for the 2012-13 school year are Rocky Mountain (5A), Century (4A), Weiser (3A), Declo (2A), Challis (1A Division I) and Dietrich (1A Division II).

Exemplary Achievement Status is awarded to schools in each classification that finish second and third in the final point compilation. Those schools are Highland and Boise (5A); Twin Falls and Skyview (4A); Shelley and Snake River (3A); McCall-Donnelly and Melba (2A); Kamiah and Genesee (1A Division I); Kootenai and Garden Valley (1A Division II).

In addition to these awards, schools that score 90% on the citizenship component and have no player/coach ejections throughout the year or incidents of unsportsmanlike school behavior at state tournaments receive an Award of Excellence certificate. Those winners are Mountain View, Post Falls, Canyon Ridge, Minico, Shelley, Declo, Melba, Challis, Genesee, Dietrich and Garden Valley.

Our Varsity Extra blog covers all things high school in the Treasure Valley. Get breaking news updates on our Varsity Extra pages on Facebook and Twitter (IDS_VarsityX).

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Varsity Extra