Boise State’s Watkins, Drmic earn second-team all-Mountain West; my AP, all-MW ballots (w/video)

For the second straight season, the Boise State men’s basketball team has two second-team all-Mountain West players.
Senior Ryan Watkins and junior Anthony Drmic were named to the conference’s second team Monday. Drmic and Derrick Marks, who earned honorable mention Monday, were second-teamers last year.
All-conference voters make their picks based on conference games only. Watkins had 13.6 points per game and 12.5 rebounds per game in 18 league games. His 225 rebounds set a new record. Drmic was ninth in league play with 14.8 points per game.
San Diego State’s Xavier Thames was named player of the year, and the Aztecs’ Steve Fisher was named coach of the year. UNLV’s Khem Birch repeated as defensive player of the year. Fresno State’s Paul Watson was named freshman of the year, San Diego State’s Josh Davis was named newcomer of the year, and San Diego State’s Dwayne Polee was named sixth man of the year.
Here are the all-conference teams:
F Cameron Bairstow, Sr., New Mexico
G Deonte Burton, Sr., Nevada
G Kendall Williams, Sr., New Mexico
G Xavier Thames, Sr., San Diego State
F Larry Nance Jr., Jr., Wyoming

G/F Anthony Drmic, Jr., Boise State
F Ryan Watkins, Sr., Boise State

G Daniel Bejarano, Jr., Colorado State
G Tyler Johnson, Sr., Fresno State
F Khem Birch, Jr., UNLV

G Tre’ Coggins, So., Air Force
F JJ Avila, Jr., Colorado State
C Alex Kirk, Jr., New Mexico
F Josh Davis, Sr., San Diego State
G Bryce Dejean-Jones, Jr., UNLV

Honorable mention
G Derrick Marks, Jr., Boise State
G Marvelle Harris, So., Fresno State
F Cole Huff, So., Nevada
G Hugh Greenwood, Jr., New Mexico
F JJ O’Brien, Jr., San Diego State
F Winston Shepard, So., San Diego State
F Roscoe Smith, Jr., UNLV
G/F Spencer Butterfield, Sr., Utah State
C Jarred Shaw, Sr., Utah State

All-defensive team
C Alex Kirk, Jr., New Mexico
G Kendall Williams, Sr., New Mexico
G Xavier Thames, Sr., San Diego State
F Larry Nance Jr., Jr., Wyoming
F Khem Birch, Jr., UNLV
F Skylar Spencer, So., San Diego State

Player of the Year: G Xavier Thames, Sr., San Diego State
Defensive Player of the Year: F Khem Birch, Jr., UNLV
Newcomer of the Year: F Josh Davis, Sr., San Diego State
Freshman of the Year: G/F Paul Watson, Fr., Fresno State
Sixth Man of the Year: F Dwayne Polee II, Jr., San Diego State
Coach of the Year: Steve Fisher, San Diego State

Here is my all-Mountain West ballot:

Cameron Bairstow, New Mexico
Xavier Thames, San Diego State
Kendall Williams, New Mexico
Larry Nance Jr., Wyoming
Ryan Watkins, Boise State

Deonte Burton, Nevada
Khem Birch, UNLV
JJ Avila, Colorado State
Anthony Drmic, Boise State
Tyler Johnson, Fresno State

Alex Kirk, New Mexico
Jarred Shaw, Utah State
Daniel Bejarano, Colorado State
Winston Shepard, San Diego State
Tre’ Coggins, Air Force

All-defensive team
Khem Birch, UNLV
Larry Nance Jr., Wyoming
Alex Kirk, New Mexico
Xavier Thames, San Diego State
Skylar Spencer, San Diego State

Player of the year: Cameron Bairstow, New Mexico
Defensive player of the year: Khem Birch, UNLV
Newcomer of the year: JJ Avila, Colorado State
Freshman of the year: Rashad Muhammad, San Jose State
Sixth man of the year: Thomas Bropleh, Boise State
Coach of the year: Steve Fisher San Diego State

The latest AP top 25 poll has two Mountain West teams ranked — San Diego State is tied for No. 8, and New Mexico checks in at No. 20. Check out the full poll here.
Here is my ballot for the week:
1. Florida
2. Wichita State
3. Villanova
4. Arizona
5. San Diego State
6. Virginia
7. Wisconsin
8. Louisville
9. Duke
10. Kansas
11. Syracuse
12. Michigan
13. Cincinnati
14. Creighton
15. North Carolina
16. Oklahoma
17. Virginia Commonwealth
18. New Mexico
19. Iowa State
20. Saint Louis
21. Memphis
22. SMU
23. UConn
24. Ohio State
25. Harvard

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Extra Points