Our Towns

Bieter appoints teens to Boise panels

A total of 23 high-school students will serve on the city’s various boards, commissions and committees, assuming the City Council confirms the appointments as expected at Tuesday’s meeting.

Appointments of students to City boards, commissions and committees started in 1999 as a way to involve local high school students in city government through public policy and decision making. The students are appointed for one academic year, beginning Sept. 1 and ending May 31. For the 2013-14 year, the city received applications from 69 students representing six public and private high schools.

Here’s a list of the appointees and the government bodies they’ll serve on:

Airport Commission

   Laura Miller, Boise High School


Arts and History Commission

Eric Garcia, Borah High School


Boise City/Ada County

Housing Authority Board

Isabella Eck, Bishop Kelly High School

Maya Garabedian, Boise High School


Design Review Committee

   Alex Lisso, Boise High School


Development Impact Fee Advisory Committee

Naomi Savin, Boise High School


Historic Preservation Commission

Connor Hoffmann, Boise High School


      Library Board

Yoon Ji Ra, Boise High School

Nate Stranzl, Timberline High School


Mayor’s Council on Children and Youth

Esther Badiata, Borah High School

Tresa Bild, Capital High School

Robby Buechler, Boise High School

Tommy Hentges, Bishop Kelly High School

Zach Lien, Capital High School

Aaron Madigan, Boise High School

Anna Paseman, Boise High School

Rebecca Russell, Boise High School

Huma Saleem, Borah High School

Paige Szathmary, Boise High School

Alex Walker, Boise High School

Alexis Waltz, Timberline High School


Parks and Recreation Commission

Vivianne Siqueiros, Timberline High School


Planning and Zoning Commission

Evan Fishburn, Timberline High School

Posted in Our Towns